Everything You Need to Know about Call of Duty: Black Ops 4

Everything You Need to Know about Call of Duty: Black Ops 4
Spread the love

Treyarch and Activision held a community reveal event for the next entry in the Call of Duty series, Call of Duty: Black Ops 4. At this community event, many aspects of Call of Duty: Black Ops 4 have been unveiled. We here at Mammoth Gamers have gathered all that information into this list for anyone interested in the latest Black Ops.

Single Player?

Treyarch has confirmed that Black Ops 4 will not feature a single-player campaign. However, players will be able to engage in other modes as solo players, as well as play single-player missions that focus on multiplayer training through a story that takes place between Black Ops 2 and 3.


Black Ops 4 features “boots on the ground” combat, for those familiar with the franchise. Yep, no more wall running or double jumping like Advanced Warfare and Infinite Warfare. Instead, weapons will have unique attachments called Operator Mods. Operator mods add a good deal of differentiation to a weapon. For example, one operator mod might enable suppressing fire, blurring and distorting the vision of the enemy on the receiving end of that gunfire.

Treyarch also announced that guns will have predictive recoil patterns, an addition that will let players make micro-adjustments to their aim and master how guns fire.

Black Ops 4 will also see the return of Specialists, the class-based characters Treyarch introduced in Black Ops 3. The medic class can assist with healing on the fly, since healing has changed for Black Ops 4, not being automatic like most Call of Duty titles, but must be done manually. The recon specialist can make targets more visible on the minimap to help players clear the new “fog of war”. Another specialist can lay down cover and razor wire to stop enemy movement. All of these specialist look to make multiplayer more cooperative and less of a killfest.

Battle Royale

Call of Duty: Battle Ops 4’s battle royale mode is called Blackout. This mode features a map “1,500 times larger” than your typical Call of Duty multiplayer map. Blackout is said to feature vehicles of all kinds – including ground based, air, and sea. Treyarch has yet to clarify how many players will be able to fight one another at a time.


Call of Duty: Black Ops 4 launches with three distinctly different zombie modes. There will be a brand new zombie storyline with new characters that draws upon both real and mythological history. Zombie modes feature a 4-player cast as is the standard, but now there are a slew of customization options and a difficulty selection option. Players can now play with bots if they choose to play alone. If the default difficulty of zombie modes turned you off in the past, you can now select a range of difficulty options to make the experience more user friendly.

In one mode, we see players battling in a gladiatorial arena with melee weapons against a swarm of zombies that seem to have been summoned by an ancient sun-worshipping Egyptian cult. The players can use maces, swords, and more as a giant boss zombie bursts into the fray.

We get a slightly better look at another mode called the Voyage of Despair, which takes place on the Titanic. Things go a slightly different than the historical iceberg tragedy as a heist turns into an insane barrage of the undead on the ship as the crew are turning into abominations.

The last zombie mode is called Blood of the Dead, but we weren’t shown any details on that.

Release Date?

Call of Duty: Black Ops 4 is scheduled to release later this year on October 12th.

Be sure to keep your eyes on Mammoth Gamers for further developments.

Danny Santos is a journalist at Mammoth Gamers. He enjoys games, comics, and tons of coffee. Last seen: Entering the underground Smash Ultimate Fight Club with a Gamecube controller.